Neuroscience Society of Turkey


Neuroscience Society of Turkey (NST) was founded in September, 1991 in İzmir, TURKEY. NST has a constitution and functions under the Turkish act # 5253. The society currently has 450 members.

NST is fully committed to promote and foster neuroscience in Turkey. It aims to facilitate and encourage collaboration among basic and clinical neuroscientists both at the national and international level. NST was one of the founding member of FENS, and has long been a member of IBRO and European Brain Council. We also have an international chapter with the Society for Neuroscience (SfN-Turkey).

NST organises national neuroscience congresses in April as well as schools, workshops and seminar programs all around the year. It is a priority of NST to encourage and support young neuroscientists to attend national and international scientific meetings and training courses.


Executive Committee:

  • Prof. Dr. Bayram Yılmaz (President)
  • Prof. Dr. Gülgün Şengül (Vice-President)
  • Prof. Dr. Emel Ulupınar (Secretary General)
  • Prof. Dr. Gürkan Öztürk (Treasurer)
  • Prof. Dr. Ertuğrul Kılıç (Reporter)
  • Prof. Dr. Ahmet Hacımüftüoğlu (Member)
  • Prof. Dr. Yasemin Gürsoy-Özdemir (Member)


Auditory Committee:

  • Prof. Dr. Ahmet Ayar 
  • Prof. Dr. Neşe Tunçel
  • Prof. Dr. Lütfü Hanoğlu


Address for Correspondence:

Prof. Dr. Bayram Yılmaz

Yeditepe University
Medical School
Department of Physiology
34755, Ataşehir, Istanbul / TURKEY
Phone:  +90 216 578 0675
Fax:  +90 216 578 0575